800-546-7106 [email protected]

Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA)


​The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) requires tax-exempt hospitals to create a hospital community health needs assessment every three years and FQHC’s need to have an updated Needs Assessment to meet the requirements set out by HRSA.  FQHCmd has worked with hospitals, FQHC’s and other entities producing detailed Community Health Needs Assessments (CHNA).  If you are looking to update or have a complete, detailed Needs Assessment of your current or potential service area or county, please contact us and ask about our Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA) Report.

The Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA)

Identifying Priority Health Status and Access Issues

The CHNA focuses on the following questions:

  • Who in the community is most vulnerable in terms of health status or access to care?
  • What are the unique health status and/or access needs for these populations?
  • Where do these people live in the county or service area?
  • Topics and data area assessed in the CHNA report

    • Demographics, e.g., numbers and locations of vulnerable people
    • Economic Issues, e.g., poverty and unemployment rates as well as other economic indicators
    • Health status indicators
    • Health disparities indicators
    • Health access indicators
    • Availability of healthcare facilities and resources.
  • List of Priority Community Needs

    FQHCmd, through the CHNA lists the Priority Community Needs including factors in the following:

    • Access to Care
    • Maternal and Child
    • Morbidity and Mortality
    • Behavior Health 
    • Social and Economic Factors

Contact us to discuss your Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA).